Deactivate or close your account

Deactivate your account to take a little break from Pinterest or close your account to say goodbye for good. If you have a business account, contact us to close your account permanently.

Deactivate your account

When you deactivate your Pinterest account, your profile and boards won't be visible on Pinterest anymore. If you change your mind, just log in to reactivate your account.

To make sure your account's no longer active, go to your profile URL. Don't log in to check if your account's still active – this will reactivate your account.

Please bear in mind that deactivating your account won't free up the username or email address. If you want to make changes to your username or email address, edit your settings instead of deactivating.

Close your account

Close your account if you're sure you're ready to say goodbye to Pinterest. Permanently closing your account means that you won't be able to get your Pins or boards back.  If you have a business account, contact us to permanently close your account.

When you close your account, your public profile will be deactivated immediately, but it will take 14 days for your account to be permanently closed. If you change your mind before the 14 days are up, log in with your email and password, and we’ll send you a link to reactivate your account.

Deactivate a deceased person's account

We're so sorry for your loss. We can deactivate a deceased family member's account if you get in touch with us. Once we deactivate the account, it won't be accessible anymore. 
 
Because we want to respect the privacy of people on Pinterest, we can’t give out any personal or login information.

Ready to deactivate or close your account?
Go to your settings
Still need help?
Contact us