Organize your boards

Stay organized on Pinterest by sorting your boards and archiving the ones you aren't using. 

Sort boards automatically

This will quickly sort all of your boards.

  1. From Pinterest, open your profile
  2. Click Boards to see your boards
  3. Next to "Sort boards" choose a sorting option from the drop-down
    Sort option How it sorts
    Last saved to Last save, newest first
    A TO Z     Board name, alphabetically
    Newest Created date, newest first
    Oldest Created date, oldest first

Sort boards by hand

Want to sort your boards another way? Drag and drop to sort your boards individually.

  1. From Pinterest, open your profile
  2. Click Boards to see your boards
  3. Next to "Sort boards" choose Drag and drop from the drop-down
  4. Click into a board and drag it to an open space - your other boards will shift to make room
  5. Your changes will save automatically

Merge boards

Merge two of your boards together to keep more of your saved Pins in one place. You can merge any boards that you own, up to two boards at a time.

  1. From Pinterest, open your profile
  2. Click on a board and drag and drop it into the center of the board you want to merge with
  3. Click Move Pins and delete board

If you merge a secret board with a public board, the privacy settings of the destination board still apply. When you merge a board into another board, the followers of the merged board will not be transferred to the new board and you will lose those followers. 

You can also merge any two board sections, as long as they are on the same board.

While merging your boards is easy, un-merging them takes a bit more work. To undo a merge, you’ll need to create a new board and drag the Pins to the new board, one by one.

Archive a board

Archive a board when you aren't using it, but don't want to delete it. Great for when you've finished a project, or for seasonal boards.

  1. From Pinterest, open your profile
  2. Click Boards to see your boards
  3. Open the board you want to archive
  4. Click the pencil icon to edit your board
  5. Click Archive
  6. Click Archive again to confirm that you want to archive the board

    When you archive a board:

  • It won't show up on your public profile.
  • You can find it on your profile, in the "Archived boards" section below your secret boards
  • We'll stop showing you recommendations related to the archived board
  • You won't be able to save Pins to a board while it's archived
  • If it's a group board, other members will still be able to see and save Pins to it (even if you're the owner)
  • You can unarchive the board anytime

Unarchive a board

If you want to save Pins to an archived board, you'll have to unarchive it.

  1. From Pinterest, open your profile
  2. Click Boards to see your boards
  3. Open the board you want to archive
  4. Click the pencil icon to edit your board
  5. Click Unarchive

Delete a board

If you're sure you never want to see a board again, you can delete it.

We can't restore a deleted board, so if you aren't sure, try archiving.

  1. From Pinterest, open your profile
  2. Click Boards to see your boards
  3. Open the board you want to archive
  4. Click the pencil icon to edit your board
  5. Click Delete
  6. Click Delete board to confirm.