Personalization and data from other websites

When you use Pinterest, we want to provide you with the most interesting (dare we say, “Pinteresting”?) content. Sometimes, we use information from other sites or apps to do that. This page describes how the Pin It button and other Pinterest site features are used to customize Pinterest for you. Some of our advertisers also share information with us to help us customize Pinterest.
 
If you go to a site that has the Pin It button or a Pinterest widget, Pinterest can use info about that visit to customize your experience back on Pinterest. For example, if you visited a bunch of websites that sell camping gear recently, we might show you more Pins related to the outdoors, show you other stuff that people have added from those websites or show you Promoted Pins for hiking gear. 
 

Here’s how it works:

  1. When you go to a Pinterest-infused site, Pinterest uses a cookie to note the visit. (What’s a cookie? Just a super-small file that gets auto-added to your browser.)
  2. The next time you sign onto Pinterest, Pinterest reads the cookie and uses the info to personalize your experience. If you aren’t signed in or haven’t signed up yet, Pinterest can also use cookies to customize your sign up experience and start you off with stuff we think you might like to follow.
  3. Pinterest deletes this data after 30 days.

If you don’t want Pinterest using stuff you do off Pinterest to personalize your experience, here are some things you can do:

  1. Go to your account settings and turn off Personalization.

  2. You can also change your browser’s Do Not Track feature to keep Pinterest and other sites from using this info.

  3. If you don’t have an account, or don't want Pinterest using stuff you do off Pinterest to customize Pinterest when you're signed out, uncheck the box below:

Allow Pinterest to personalize my experience using sites I visit.

Please note: Pinterest uses a cookie to remember what you choose here, so if you ever clear the cookies in your browser, you’ll need to come back and update your preferences again.