Deactivate or close your account

When you deactivate your Pinterest account, your profile and boards won't be visible on Pinterest anymore. If you change your mind, just log in to reactivate your account.

If you have a business account, you can deactivate your account in your Pinterest settings. If you’ve created any ads on Pinterest with your business account and want to permanently close your account, you can contact us.

Deactivate your account

Keep in mind that deactivating your account will not free up the username or email address. If you want to make changes to your username or email address, edit your settings instead of deactivating.

To make sure your account's no longer active, go to your profile URL. Do not log in to check if your account's still active as this will reactivate your account.

Close your account

Close your account if you're sure you're ready to say goodbye to Pinterest. Permanently closing your account means that you will not be able to get your Pins or boards back. If you have a business account, contact us to permanently close your account.

When you close your account, your public profile will be deactivated immediately, but it will take 14 days for your account to be permanently closed. If you change your mind before the 14 days are up, log in with your email and password, and we’ll send you a link to reactivate your account.

Deactivate a deceased person's account

We're so sorry for your loss. We can deactivate a deceased family member's account if you get in touch with us. Once we deactivate the account, it will not be accessible anymore.

Because we want to respect the privacy of people on Pinterest, we cannot give out any personal or login information.

Ready to deactivate or close your account?
Go to your settings
Still need help?
Contact us